The Family Offer

Below are the 4 Levels of Service outlined by NHS England. These set out what all families can expect from their local health visitor service:

1. Community: Health Visitors have a broad knowledge of community needs and resources available e.g. Children’s Centres and self-help groups and work to develop these and make sure families know about them.

2. Universal (the 5 key visits): Health visitor teams ensure that every new mother and child have access to a health visitor, receive development checks and receive good information about healthy start issues such as parenting and immunisation, the team can also be accessed for advice on sleep, behaviour and feeding as an example.

The following 5 key visits are offered to all families under the universal level of service.

  • From 28 weeks - Antenatal
  • 10 -14 days - New baby
  • 6 – 8 weeks
  • 9 – 12 months
  • 2 – 2 ½ years

3. Universal Plus: Families can access timely, expert advice from a health visitor when they need extra support.

4. Universal Partnership Plus: Health visitors provide ongoing support, playing a key role in bringing together relevant local services, to help families with continuing complex needs, for example where a child has a long-term condition or there are safeguarding concerns.

If you have got concerns regarding a child’s safety please go to the Gloucestershire Safeguarding Children Board

If you are new to Gloucestershire we will see you to explain our service and find out how we can help you and your family.

If your child goes to an Emergency Department or is admitted to hospital we are notified. We may give you a call to follow this up with further advice and information.